The Problem With Youtube Finance

Why we're all here.

I’ve always wanted to teach people about money…

Back around 2010 or 11 I started up my own blog centered around personal finance and investing. I was able to gain a little bit of traction with it and reach a small audience. But eventually the demands of writing, promoting and simply maintaining a website were too much and I let it fizzle out.

For years after that I toyed with the idea of starting a Youtube channel, but could never decide on what topic (and a complete lack of knowledge on how to make a video!). During the COVID pandemic I got really into watching Youtube. Peter Mckinnon was (is) one of my favorite creators. I loved how he was teaching (photography/videomaking) yet making it fun and interesting. So when I lost my job in 2020, I decided, f**k it…I’ve got all the time in the world now, let’s start making some Youtube videos to fill the time between job searches.

I searched around to see what kinds of videos people were making in some of my favorite hobbies. Cycling, pinball, and of course….finance.

What shocked me when I got to researching finance channels was how BAD most of the “advice” being given was. People making videos pumping up risky stocks, shady cryptocurrencies, and the general culture of active daytrading.

That’s it! This space needs a voice of reason! I’ll make videos about how you should REALLY invest. Honest, solid strategies, even if that’s not what gets millions of views. And that’s what I’ve tried to do!

But that comes with its own set of problems. First off, that stuff really DOESN’T get the views. Which is fine! It’s up to me as the creator to find a new/creative way to package and deliver that information in a way that you’ll all click and watch.

Second, the Youtube algorithm is like a Hollywood studio. Once you have a hit, it’s very easy to get typecast!

Forever George Costanza…

I had a few “hit” videos on I-bonds, and more recently T-bills. Sometimes it seems like those are the only topics Youtube will ever shower me with views on and any other videos are dead the minute I hit publish. There’s so much more I want to cover!

I promise I’ll still make all those other videos, but it’s been a long way of saying…that’s why we’re here. So I can talk about the topics I want, I can get a little personal with you all, and I don’t have to worry about whether or not an algorithm is going to promote it or squash it.

So, in the words of one of my favorite bands, The Hold Steady: “Thanks for listening, thanks for understanding.”

Things I’m Currently Enjoying

  1. The final seasons of Succession on HBO and Ted Lasso on AppleTV.

    • Two amazingly written, extremely entertaining and VERY different shows. I’ll be sad to see them go but riveted to see how they end.

  2. “Death Wish” - by Jason Isbell

    • I’ve been a fan of his since he was a member of Drive-By Truckers and first saw him (solo) in concert in a tiny 200 person venue. Seeing his rise to become one of the best songwriters of our generation has been amazing to watch. His rise isn’t slowing any time soon by the sounds of this newest song!

  3. Chess.

    • I’ve recently gotten into chess. Never knowing more than how the pieces moved, it’s been fascinating to learn how to play. I’ve also been thoroughly entertained by the ongoing World Championship. Watching the Youtube livestream of each game of the match as I work each morning. If you play, feel free to add me on Chess.com

What You Missed

There’s been a lot of talk (and misinformation) surrounding some changes to mortgage fees that will be going into effect starting on May 1. I made a video cutting through the noise and giving you what you need to know.

If you made it this far, thank you! Give me suggestions for the newsletter, feedback on videos, or just say hi by reaching out on any of your favorite social networks (my links are below) or email me: [email protected] 

Talk to you soon,

Jay

Reply

or to participate.